Salem Radio Network News Friday, January 21, 2022


EU states agree to suspend travel to southern Africa

BRUSSELS (Reuters) – European Union states have agreed to suspend temporarily travel to southern Africa after the detection of a new COVID-19 variant, the presidency of the EU said on Friday.

A committee of health experts from all 27 EU states “agreed on the need to activate the #emergency break & impose temporary restriction on all travel into EU from southern Africa,” the Slovenian presidency of the EU said on Twitter.

An EU source said the restrictions would apply to South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe.

(This story refiles to remove word ‘due’ from headline)

(Reporting by Francesco Guarascio @fraguarascio and Gabriela Baczynska; editing by Philip Blenkinsop)


Editorial Cartoons

View More »

Michael Ramirez
Fri, Jan 14, 2022